Municipal Winners Proclaimed - CT

Candidates of the Lakas-Kampi held their ground in last Monday’s automated local elections in Catanduanes, winning seven of the 11 races. Seven incumbent mayors won their reelection bids.

In Bagamanoc, Mayor Odilon Pascua grabbed his third straight term by beating former Vice Gov. Vincent Villaluna’s mother Lina and Eduardo de Asis. Wilma Rivera won as vice mayor over Edwin Evangelista and Leo Presentacion.

In Baras, Vice Mayor Chito Chi succeeds Mayor Jose Teves Jr. as he moves up to the provincial capitol. He defeated challengers Ildefonso Torrente and Rustom Soledad. Councilor Edna Tomagan claimed the vice mayorship over Ely Carranza.

In Bato, JAS loyalist Mayor Eulogio Rodriguez soundly thrashed Juan Rodulfo while Vice Mayor Joselito Alberto easily fended three challengers – Erwin Rojas, Arturo Tarnate and former Vice Mayor Felicito Tasarra.

In Caramoran, the Popa husband-and-wife team bucked the loss of their campaign kitty, with Mayor Agnes Popa winning over Ma. Theresa Qua and also-ran Marites Tarog. PBM Natalio Popa is slated to win as councilor. Arlyn Templonuevo won as vice mayor over Councilor Zaldy Idanan.

In Gigmoto, Mayor Edgar Tayam repeated his 100-vote win in 2007 over former Mayor Armando Guerrero and also-ran Edgar Carranza while Vice Mayor Milagros Sanchez also won over Nestor San Gaspar.

In Pandan, the First Gentleman’s close confidante, Restituto de Quiroz convincingly lashed businessman Edwin delos Santos and incumbent Mayor Josefina Santelices. Former Mayor Ninfa Namata reclaimed her post against San Andres vice mayor Alan del Valle and incumbent Ireneo Oliveros.

In Panganiban, former Vice Mayor Robert Fernandez learned from his 2007 defeat by eking out a slim victory over two-termer Mayor Gregorio Angeles. For the vice mayorship, Councilor Tito Villamor ruled a four-cornered fight, besting incumbent Norma Camantigue, Councilor Eduardo Cabrera and Atty. Jocelyn Abines.

In San Andres, grizzled veteran Dr. Antonio Romano proved he’s more than a match for two members of the Bar - Mayor Leo Mendoza and Atty. Francisco Samonte. PBM Medin Zafe was more emphatic in his win, dominating Honesto Lumabi, Councilor Ronaldo Tivar and Rommel Antonio.

In San Miguel, Mayor Edna Bernal completed her victory over the Camano couple by overwhelming PBM Francisco Camano Jr. while Councilor Mary Ann Teves crushed Vice Mayor Angelita Taule and former Vice Mayor Victorio Plantilla.

In Viga, Mayor Abelardo Abundo Sr. ruled the crowded field, pushing aside former Mayor Jose Torres, PBM Romeo Tuplano, Juvenal Usero Jr. and Jacinto Obre. For the vice mayorship, Buenavista barangay chairman Emeterio Tarin was the clear winner over incumbent Yolando Tuquero and Rolando Torrocha.

In Virac, Jose U. Alberto II successfully made a political comeback by walking over Mayor Santos Zafe and architect Angeles Tablizo Jr. Vice Mayor Roy Laynes got more votes than Alberto in defeating Councilor Alipio Abundo, former Vice Mayor Raul Panti and Councilor Delia Bagadiong.

Source: Catanduanes Tribune - 12 May 2010

  • Php 1,2M in Boxes - In Catanduanes, Army and Citizens Armed Forces Geographical Unit (Cafgu) personnel manning a checkpoint seized P1.2 million in cash from four persons in a government-owned vehicle in Caramoran town 50 kilometers from the capital town of Virac.